Its been a long time since I had to call the recovery to my Ducati 916 that cut out

Its May 2023 and the Ducati 916 bp has 54,000 miles on the clock. I bought it back in 2006 with approx 12k on the clock. In that time, it let me down with a flat battery and the clutch nut that i did back up by hand. The previous day I had put new plates in and did not tighten them up.

So a couple of nights ago, I was off to buy a new charger for the lithium battery. I was 15 minutes into the journey when it just cut out as i drove down the road. I knew something had gone. When I stopped, I tried a couple of press of the starter but no fire, checked fuel all good but I could not hear the petrol pump prime up. When switching the key on, its quite noisy as it primes up the pressure. I assumed that the pump had given up as I changed the relays which I thought could fail.

I called the break down services and was updated an hour. As I was on the side of the road, a motorist pulled up and mentioned he was the owner of Protwins, a Ducati dealer locally. I have used Protwins for parts and knew the staff. We spoke about the diagnosis, he mentioned checking fuses. I had a look in the main fuse box but all were okay. Then Brett called Pete at Protwins, the two discussed then Pete suggested the online fuse, I had forgotten about these two. Under the rubber protective cap, the fuse had burnt out. The plastic of the fuse had burnt. Brett managed to get the burnt metal that was left of the fuse out. We used one of the 15amp fuses and it fired up straight away.

Tonight I stripped down the bike, taking the rear exhausts off, undoing the bolts on the Ecu, dropping the plastic tray so that I could get to the wiring loom. I cut out the old fuse and solder in a new fuse. Then cleaned all the parts to put it all back together. Pressed the starter and it fired as it used to.

Thanks to Brett and Pete at Protwins.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.