Fixed misfire on my 916 no more cough or spluter

I found the problem to my misfire. I thought it was going to be checking electronics. The throttle position sensor or air sensors etc.

I started by removing the tank to check the injectors and any water that might have got in the air box. As I removed the tank, I noticed the pipe that drains water from the tank filler had broke. I then looked under the plug cap and the plug was sitting in a pool of water. The under side of the cap was filled with water and rusty. I also tried to start the bike to get the water out of the cylinder as I removed the plug and noticed the breather was also spitting out water.

I fitted two new plugs out of precaution. greased the new plugs and cut the breather pipe. Blew out the water out of the breather pipe. Put all the parts back on the bike. Started it up and let it tick over. Straight away I could hear that the bike was running smoother.

It is such a good feeling to find the problem quickly and for it to be such a easy fix. I hope you have the same success.

Vinnychoff

pictures of the broken pipe. the plug cap, the plug in the cylinder head with water in

ImageImageImage

One thought on “Fixed misfire on my 916 no more cough or spluter

Leave a Reply

